Jog-a-Thon Case Studies

Five real events, every figure linked to the local paper or school report it came from, and what organizers can take from each.

Updated · How we write and update guides

Quick answer. These jog-a-thon examples come from five US schools and communities with published results: a small parish school that raised nearly $21,000 on a $10,000 goal, a 40-year tradition that hit $121,000, a PE-run event that has raised $263,707 since 1997, a rain-day move into a gym, and a K-12 charity run. Each figure links to its source.

Search for jog-a-thon examples and you'll mostly find pledge pages and sales pitches. We wanted the opposite: events where a newspaper or the school itself published what happened, so you can see real numbers and real decisions. Each case below has its own page with the full story, the figures as published, and a clearly labeled section of our analysis. Nothing here comes from a fundraising company, and nothing is filled in where a source was silent.

Five jog-a-thon examples compared

"Not reported" means the source didn't say. Results are as published at the time, and some were preliminary.

School or eventLocationYearParticipantsReported resultSource
Parkside ElementaryTenino, WA30th-anniversary run on Friday, May 26 (2023 by the calendar)Not reported$20,089 in 2022 (record year); $263,707 from 1997 to 2022The Chronicle
St. James-Holy Redeemer SchoolLa Crescenta, CAOctober 2019 (first year)TK-8; school of just over 100 studentsNearly $21,000 against a $10,000 goalCrescenta Valley Weekly
Holy Family SchoolSouth Pasadena, CAMarch 6, 2020Students, staff and parents; 3,758 laps total$121,000 against a $100,000 goalPasadena Now
Alaka‘i O Kaua‘i Charter SchoolKoloa, HIMarch 2021Grades K-6, class by class; top jogger 45 lapsTotal not reported; funds for project-based learning materialsThe Garden Island
Orcas Island Heart Pledge Jog-a-ThonOrcas Island, WAMarch 26, 2022 (first year)78 students, K-12Total not reported; all gifts to a local fund for children with heart conditionsThe Islands' Sounder

One line on each case

Lessons that show up across cases

These are our conclusions from reading the five sources together. Each points to where the evidence comes from.

Set a goal you expect to beat, then say you beat it

The two events that published goals both passed them: St. James-Holy Redeemer raised about twice its $10,000 target, and Holy Family beat $100,000 by $21,000. A clear, round, beatable number gives families something to finish and gives you a headline. Our guide to how much jog-a-thons raise shows how to build that number from participants, donors per child and average gift.

Per-lap pledges need a printed cap

Orcas Island published per-lap rates from 50 cents to $5, with some students stacking pledgers to about $10 a lap, and its top runner was credited with 128 laps. Holy Family logged 3,758 laps on what works out to a quarter-mile loop. Multiply any of those rates by any of those lap counts and you can see why donors should know their maximum before event day. Our page on per-lap vs. flat jog-a-thon pledges explains caps, and the pledge planner sets one for you.

Train kids to pace, and give them pacers

Parkside starts its training with a five-minute jog three weeks out, and more than half its students go on to jog the full 30 minutes. Orcas Island had middle and high schoolers jog with younger kids. Both approaches attack the same jog-a-thon problem: children who sprint the first lap and stop. See the elementary jog-a-thon guide for run lengths by grade.

Every child should be able to take part

Orcas Island's staff silent pledgers, Parkside's juice and pens for every runner, and St. James-Holy Redeemer's certificate for each participant all do the same job: no child is left out because their family couldn't fundraise. Build that in before you build the top-earner prizes.

Write the weather plan before you need it

Alaka‘i O Kaua‘i moved to its gym and ran class by class. Orcas Island ran through hard rain at the start. Holy Family's run was on a separate track, which means a second calendar to coordinate. Decide who calls it, by when, and where you go. Our indoor jog-a-thon and rain plan guide has the details.

Count laps in a way families trust

Orcas Island tracked laps at a pit-stop tent and sent each runner home with a paper award showing their count. When a donor's bill depends on a number, hand that number to the family on the spot. For counting methods that keep up with runners, see jog-a-thon lap counting.

Name what the money buys

Parkside's profits go to one fund that pays for field trips, assemblies and the climbing wall. Alaka‘i named project-based learning materials. Orcas Island named a specific fund for local kids. A named use is easier to pitch than a general appeal.

What these school jog-a-thon results don't tell you

Local reports are thin in predictable places, so read the numbers with care:

  • Participant counts are often missing. Only Orcas Island gave an exact number of runners, so per-student results are rough at best.
  • Totals can be preliminary. St. James-Holy Redeemer reported "nearly" $21,000 while donations were still open. Final figures may differ.
  • Costs are rarely published. None of the five sources reported expenses, so treat every figure as gross, not net.
  • Sources sometimes conflict with themselves. The Orcas Island article gives the top runner 128 laps in the text and 126 in a photo caption. We note conflicts on each case page.

These are success stories by selection: schools publish good years. Use them for ideas and sanity checks, not as a forecast.

How we chose and checked these cases

Each jog-a-thon (also written jogathon) case study met four tests. The event had to be called a jog-a-thon. It had to be run by a school, its parents or a community group. It had to be described in a public source we could open and read: a local newspaper or the school's own report. And it needed at least three concrete, checkable facts. We left out events documented only on fundraising-company sites and never name companies involved. If a source didn't state something, the case page doesn't either.

Want more examples? Our walk-a-thon case studies cover the slower-paced cousin of this event. When you're ready to plan your own, start with the jog-a-thon planning guide and run your course through the jog-a-thon lap and course calculator.

These five are the deep dives. For the wider picture, the jog-a-thon results database lists 54 documented events with totals, runners, laps and sources, and you can sort and download it.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a school jog-a-thon raise?

Results vary widely with school size and donor base. Among our five cases, a school of just over 100 students reported nearly $21,000 in its first year, and a long-running parish school reported $121,000 in 2020. Build your own estimate from participants, donors per child and average gift.

What makes a jog-a-thon successful?

In the cases we reviewed, the common threads were a clear goal the school could beat, a named use for the money, a way for every child to take part, and planning for pacing and weather. None of these require a company or special equipment.

Are these jog-a-thon examples real?

Yes. Each case is drawn from a local newspaper article or school-supplied report that we opened and linked. We report only what those sources say and mark our own analysis separately.

How long do kids run at a jog-a-thon?

Parkside Elementary's run lasts 30 minutes after three weeks of PE training. Other events in our cases used a set time window per class or a morning-long open course. Shorter windows suit younger grades.